RSS

Alright, I caved!

26 Jan

I spent the past week studying and haven’t written a word since last Wednesday. But the chapters just kept piling on. (Actually, I have two more I should be reading right now.) This workload is either going to make this the longest semester ever, or it’s going to fly by because I’ll be too busy to think about it. I’m hoping for the latter.

However, just because I haven’t written anything, doesn’t mean I haven’t been plotting. But of course, I’ve been thinking about the wrong story. It’s always the characters from the stories I’m not writing that want to talk to me. (Or the character whose story has no plot, he likes yapping in my ear. Yes, I love you, but you don’t have a story! Come back when you have one, please.)

Anybody else have that problem? What do you do?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 2011/01/26 in School, Writing

 

4 responses to “Alright, I caved!

  1. K.D. Storm aka Kim Jackson

    2011/01/28 at 04:18

    This is one of my main problems too. What do I do to date? I have a crazy amount of notebooks that I jot things down in and then accidently lose until one day I find it in a cleaning spree and it makes no sense. Not very helpful I know 🙂

     
    • Candice Beever

      2011/01/28 at 13:04

      Yeah, I’m always finding a million scraps of paper while I’m cleaning. And usually, what I wrote still makes sense, but it’s a scene or idea that was three versions of the story ago. Also, not helpful. LOL

       
  2. Koreen

    2011/01/28 at 11:14

    I do the notebook thing too, but sometimes that doesn’t help the crazy voices. Mostly I try to ignore them and focus on one story at a time. Otherwise, I can’t ever get anything done.

    I hope you’re able to channel them because I’d like to read more of your writing. 🙂

     
    • Candice Beever

      2011/01/28 at 13:06

      Channeling sounds a lot like what they do. My characters rarely listen to me. Although I’m not very good at ignoring them. Hmm, may need to work on that. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
