RSS

Life for the Next Fifteen Weeks

21 Jan

I mentioned in my last post that school started on Tuesday. If nothing else, it should prove interesting. Here’s an overview for those interested.

Monday, Wednesday, & Friday

10am – 10:50 Retail Management

In addition to some overall strategy we should be learning the more nitty-gritty details of running a retail store. Location, layout, organization, personnel, inventory, pricing, etc.

I think this is will be interesting. I like learning this kind of stuff. And even though I’m not planning to go into retail management, I think it’ll be beneficial to see how the retailers will be looking at the marketing strategies I might be coming up with.

This class also sounds like it’ll be one easiest. Five exams (final optional!) and some open-book quizzes.

Tuesday & Thursday

9:35am – 10:50 Legal and Social Environment of Business

Lots of legal stuff. A basic understanding of legal proceedings, terms, punishments, and some ethics.

I’ve never had an interest in law and I wouldn’t be taking this course if it wasn’t required. That said, I think I’ll learn a lot. Even the teacher said, “I’ll have done my job, if you learn when you need to call a lawyer.”

This class should be pretty moderate. Four exams and random quizzes. The only downside is that the quizzes will be at the beginning of class and cover the material for that day, which means reading the chapters in advance is mandatory.

12:35pm-1:50 Strategic Promotion

We’ll be learning how to create an integrated marketing promotion strategy (meaning that all parts convey the same message). Much more difficult than it sounds.

This one might get exciting as our group project is to work as consultants with a real client. Other than that, it’ll be a breeze. Three exams and an optional final. I love optional finals!

2:00pm – 3:15 Marketing Research

Last but not least. This course is aptly titled. We’ll be learning how to conduct marketing research; writing surveys, collecting data, analyzing said data, etc.

Let me start this one with a story. Before going into class, I was waiting in the hallway. A few feet away, two students were talking and I happened to overhear.

“I’m just waiting on my Marketing Research class.”

“Good luck,” she says with a derisive snort. “I would rather drop out of college to work at McDonald’s than take that class again.”

Those are some pretty strong words. After getting the 28-page syllabus, I understood. This class will be brutal.

– 2-3 chapters per week
– 10 exams
– assignments due every Friday (the class doesn’t even meet on Friday!)
– a group research project where we do everything; write the proposal and surveys, collect the data, statistical analysis, everything
– a final report on our project that will be about 100-pages long
– and an oral presentation of this report

This is where I'll be, if you need me.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 2011/01/21 in Life, School

 

2 responses to “Life for the Next Fifteen Weeks

  1. K.D. Storm aka Kim Jackson

    2011/01/21 at 12:06

    Wow! Your schedule is looking a lot like mine my friend. Just remember you have to take time for yourself too. Make sure to breathe once in a while. It helps a lot 🙂 Good luck. As always I know you can do it 🙂

     
  2. Koreen

    2011/01/23 at 11:58

    Sounds like you’re gonna be a busy girl. Gook luck this semester and don’t forget to keep writing. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
