RSS

It’s all about the little things

12 Jan

So, I’ve been spending my writing time the last few days creating character profiles for my two main characters, Purple and her best friend Mason.

Once again, I don’t remember who I stole this from (so, if you know, speak up and I’ll give them credit). But when I first started writing I found a character profile that was pretty thorough and is easily adapted.

Profile for:
Gender:
Race:
Age:
Birthdate:
Astrological Sign:
Chinese Zodiac Sign:
Height:
Twist:

Basic Description:
Hairstyle:
Eyes:
Body:
Physical Condition:
Marks, Scars, Tattoos:
Clothing:

Birthplace:

History:

Home:

Pets:

Personality:
Likes:
Dislikes:
Fears:
Goals:
Hobbies:
Occupation:
Favorite Food:
Least Favorite Food:
Most Prized Possession:
Vernacular (Way of Speaking):
Psychological Condition:
Character Behavior:
Aptitude:
Social and Other Pressures, Problems:
Relationships (With Who and What Kind):
Belief, Superstition, Moral Value:
Positive Characteristics:
Negative Characteristics:
Personality:
Other:

Abilities:
Physical:
Magical:
Other:

Some of it seems silly and redundant. But when I’m mid-really-awesome-scene-can’t-even-stop-to-eat, it’s an easy reference when I forget my MC’s eye color. It’s also nice because you get be as vague or in-depth as you want.

You could write an entire paragraph about your character’s favorite food and how it became their favorite when their mom lovingly made it for them every birthday, or you could just write tacos.

What I learned when I was creating profiles for my new MCs was that it’s all about the little things. If you want your characters to seem like people, they need to have a weird quirk or two. Some irrational fear or guilty pleasure. One of my characters is afraid of microwaves while the other hates the texture of cottage cheese. Stupid, but they feel more like people now, because people are just plain weird once you get to know them.

PS – I’m afraid of venetian blinds. Just in case you were wondering.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on 2011/01/12 in Writing

 

6 responses to “It’s all about the little things

  1. rachelhamm

    2011/01/13 at 17:13

    this is awesome Candice! I’m so bad at developing characters- I think something like this will really help me! Thank you!

     
    • Candice Beever

      2011/01/13 at 17:57

      Yay! I got to help someone! That just made my day.

       
  2. rachelhamm

    2011/01/15 at 13:25

    I just copied and pasted it into a word document- I hope that’s ok!

     
    • Candice Beever

      2011/01/15 at 23:32

      It’s cool with me. That’s what I did to whoever I stole it from. 🙂

       
  3. Jillian

    2011/01/15 at 15:45

    I’ve done these before. It really does (surprisingly) help. And it’s fun. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
