RSS

A set writing time

07 Jan

As per my New Years’ Resolutions, my set writing time started Monday. Of course, I spent that time on a train speeding me back home from my parents. So perhaps I was a little distracted. But I did it.

I pretty much invoked my standard two rules. I can’t remember who I stole them from, but they are:

1) I don’t have to write.
2) I can’t do anything else.

So, with that in place, there’s nothing left to do but think about my story. Right now, I’m working on The Girl in the Purple Coat. I haven’t worked on it much in the past month, desiring to read more than write, and I’m basically at the very beginning of the concepts stage. (I really didn’t have much more than what I wrote in that back cover synopsis I posted awhile back.) I spent Monday asking myself these basic questions.

Who are the main characters?
Who are the secondary characters?
What is the MC’s overall goal?
What are the MC’s motives?
What are the big plot points?
What are possible side plots?

And so it begins…

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 2011/01/07 in Writing

 

One response to “A set writing time

  1. K.D. Storm aka Kim Jackson

    2011/01/07 at 10:58

    That is pretty cool. I can’t wait to read some of it. I know you can do it and I am cheering you on 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
