RSS

Best and Worst of 2010

05 Jan

After posting My Year in Books, Kendra asked which were the best and the worst books I read last year. I had to think about that one. Here’s what I came up with.

My best book of the year was…drum roll, please…

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

When I finished this book, I leaned back and said, “Wow.” That was it. Just wow. It paints a picture of America’s history that’s both true and tragic using the innocent view of a child who sees the duplicity in life without even trying. Almost every book that becomes one of my favorites is one that makes me think but doesn’t beat me over the head with it. This was one of those.

Other contenders for the best:

1984 by George Orwell
Slaughterhouse-five by Kurt Vonnegut
A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
Four Plays by Eugene O’Neill
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

Now on to the worst, which was…

Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll

While I thought Alice in Wonderland was alright, I found Through the Looking Glass incredibly boring. It was just a series of random events that meant absolutely nothing to me. Maybe there’s some deeper meaning that I didn’t see, but I didn’t see it. I think the larger problem was that it read exactly the same as Alice in Wonderland. Why write a second book when you already said it in the first?

Other contenders for the worst:

The Host by Stephenie Meyer
As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner
Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 2011/01/05 in Books

 

Leave a Reply

 
