RSS

Figuring out my blog’s purpose

03 Jan

So, I’ve been thinking that my blog lacks direction. For a blog about writing, there’s surprisingly little about writing on here. As it stands, this is more of a personal blog. Which is fine, if I want it to be a personal blog. But honestly, I’m not sure.

I’d like to have valuable content that people not only enjoy reading but learn something from. But I don’t feel like I’m qualified to give advice about much of anything. I have no expertise. I know a little bit about a lot of things, but in today’s specialized market, that’s not good anymore.

I’ve thought about doing some weekly marketing posts, but again, not an expert. I’d basically be regurgitating what I’m learning in school, possibly with publishing applications.

I thought about writing novel reviews, but I already post those on Goodreads. Although, I could go more in depth about various aspects in the blog posts. My normal Goodreads review is usually, “I liked/didn’t like it because…”

And of course I thought about posting up what I’m learning about writing. Since my goal for the New Year is to write more consistently, I should be learning lots just by experimentation. But that seems subject to my own epiphanies, which may or may not come.

Or maybe I could do all of the above? Throw in a few personal posts now and then for good measure and voilà, I have a blog.

What do you think? What do you want to read about?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 2011/01/03 in Life, Writing

 

Leave a Reply

 
