RSS

My Year in Books

29 Dec

Thanks to Goodreads, I know I’ve read 36 books this year. I love that site.

I was honestly surprised–and a little impressed–by that number. I know 36 doesn’t seem like a big number, but when you factor in homework, a job, and a marriage, suddenly a book every week and a half isn’t so bad.

The Tallies:

Fiction: 34
Nonfiction: 2 (I’m working on this one for next year)
Classics: 12 (Roughly 1/3, not bad)
Textbooks: 12 (Not counted in the above 36 because I don’t review my textbooks. Hmm…Maybe I should start)

And The Titles:

Castle in the Air by Diana Wynne Jones
1984 by George Orwell
Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll
The Host by Stephenie Meyer
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Reflex (Jumper: Book 2) by Steven Gould
Buyology by Martin Lindstrom
Behemoth by Scott Westerfeld
Jumper by Steven Gould
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
A Game of Thrones by George RR Martin
The Girl She Used to Be by David Cristofano
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith
The Atlantis Complex (Artemis Fowl: Book 7) by Eion colfer
Genesis by Bernard Beckett
Slaughterhouse-five by Kurt Vonnegut
A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
Their Eyes were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner
Four Plays by Eugene O’Neill
Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf
The Waste Land by TS Eliot
The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
Dreamquake (Dreamhunter: Book 2) by Elizabeth Knoz
Dreamhunter by Elizabeth Knox
A Monstrous Regiment of Women (Mary Russell Mystery: Book 2)by Laurie R King
The Beekeeper’s Apprentice (Mary Russell Mystery: Book 1)by Laurie R King
Three From Galilee by Marjorie Holmes
Two From Galilee by Marjorie Holmes
The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson: Book 1) by Rick Riordan
Specials (Uglies: Book 3) by Scott Westerfeld
Pretties (Uglies: Book 2) by Scott Westerfeld
Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
Hooked by Les Edgerton

If you’re really interested in not only what I read but what I thought about these books, you can check out my Goodreads page.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on 2010/12/29 in Books, Life

 

6 responses to “My Year in Books

  1. Kendra

    2010/12/29 at 09:18

    How did you like The Host? Tayla keeps bugging me to read it, but I haven’t as of yet…I hope you guys had a Merry Christmas and have a happy New Year!

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/12/29 at 17:35

      Don’t let my opinion spoil it for you, but I wasn’t overly impressed. I kind of felt like I was reading Twilight all over again. One girl, two guys, angst ensues. But the concept of the story was really cool, I just didn’t like the execution. How old is Tayla now? 19, 20?

      Anyway, I hope you had a good Christmas too and I’m sorry we couldn’t manage to get together. Happy New Year!

       
  2. K.D. Storm aka Kim Jackson

    2010/12/29 at 10:53

    I have read 1984 and I have heard that The Host was pretty good. I plan on doing a little more reading myself on the upcoming year. Good job on your reading and yes I think text books should count.

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/12/29 at 17:40

      I LOVED 1984! It went on my favorites list. I like books that make me think and the dystopia makes it even better, because utopia and dystopia novels terrify me.

      I agree, textbooks should count. LOL

       
  3. Kendra

    2010/12/30 at 10:50

    I read 1984 this year as well and really enjoyed it. It’s nice to read a classic that doesn’t bore you to death, lol.

     
  4. Kendra

    2011/01/04 at 10:34

    Okay, so this post begs the question of what was the best and what was the worst book you read in 2010?

     

Leave a Reply

 
