RSS

Day 10: Yeah, it’s week two.

10 Nov

Nano Thoughts:

It’s clearly week two. Earlier tonight, I wrote for a little bit. Then on finishing Chapter 9 (which should have been finished yesterday), I decided to call it a night. The logic: it’s only the 10th. I have plenty of time to catch up and I’m just not “feeling it”. Pretty much exactly what I said yesterday.

However, I did not stop there. I wrote Chapters 10 and 11, placing me ahead for the second time this month. Woot!

What happened?

I checked my e-mail and found, rather conveniently, a Week Two pep talk from the Nano people. I think this is the first time I’ve ever been motivated by their motivational newsletters. Maybe because this one hit exactly the mark. Maybe because I was deep down feeling guilty. Maybe it was just the silly shrimp analogy. I don’t know, but it helped.

I went back to my little tale, wrote my chapters, and feel much better about myself for having done so.

I didn’t actually intend to write Chapter 11 today too. But 10 was actually decently short and the events flowed right into 11. Plus, I thought I had the events included with 10, so I’d already started writing them before I realized they were supposed to be a separate chapter.

Looking back, I have no idea why I broke them apart in the outline.

For outlining:

As I mentioned about two months ago, this is the first time I’ve used an outline. So far, I’m really liking it. It’s nice sitting down everyday and knowing what I’m supposed to write. Although, I do miss the spontaneous directions my characters used to take me. I still get a few, but on a much smaller scale.

Days: 10/30 =33.33%
Word Count: 23,591/50,000 =47.18%
Chapters: 11/30 = 36.67%

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 2010/11/10 in Writing

 

Leave a Reply

 
