RSS

Nanowrimo

31 Oct

I think the entire writing world is abuzz with Nanowrimo. Hazah! It starts tonight. At 12:01am thousands of people will be counting down as if it were New Year’s Eve. But no ball will drop, instead these masses will be pulling out their laptops to write. To make all their plot bunny dreams come true. To finally call themselves novelists.

I’m as stoked as anyone can be. I’m also a little nervous, because I’ve made my personal goal harder this year. I have vowed not only to reach my 50,000 words, but also to complete the story. To type the words “The End” by 11:59pm on November 30th.

This is terrifying to me because I’m honestly not sure how long my story is going to be. My outline is seven, yes 7, pages and I keep thinking of things to add.

Will I finish with 50,000? 80,000? 220,000? Contrary to popular belief, there is a limit to how much I can write in 30 days. This is the first story that I’ve ever wondered if it’ll be too long. I’m the person with novel anorexia. My average is somewhere around 43,000 words per novel (novella, really). But these characters have so much suffering to do. I can’t be nice to them because it would ruin the story.

Still, this is my goal and I’ll be posting my progress on here everyday.

Days: 0/30
Word Count: 0/50,000
Chapters: 0/30
Nano Thoughts: I can’t wait to start!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 2010/10/31 in Writing

 

2 responses to “Nanowrimo

  1. rachelhamm

    2010/10/31 at 15:04

    I’m excited to give NANO another try this year too! And like you I’m aiming for a slightly different goal. My goal is to finish the story I started during NANO last year! I won’t be counting already written words towards my word count, but as I already gave 37 K written and my goal is around 80-90K for the completed book, I think NANO is the perfect motivation!

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/10/31 at 17:28

      Sounds like a good goal and a decent length novel. Good luck!

       

Leave a Reply

 
