RSS

Seriously!? / I’m Still Alive!

28 Oct

This is a double mini-post, but has nothing to do with writing.

Seriously?

So, for one of my classes we had to do a scavenger hunt around our college’s Business Placement Center. One part of the assignment was to interview someone who worked there and find out their basic job responsibilities. This assignment was due at noon today.

I finished yesterday and thought I was a slacker since the instructor gave it to us last week. Then today, I went to the BPC just before noon to buy a course CD I needed. There were students, plural, in there doing their scavenger hunts!

Seriously!?

Do they not realize the assignment is due in ten minutes? Do they know the assignment has to be typed? Talk about procrastination, that’s just stupid.

I’m Still Alive!

In other news, I conducted my first customer service meetings today. All went well. I was not eaten alive. Everybody was very nice and said I did a good job. Apparently the thought of conducting the meetings was more nerve-wracking than actually conducting them. Once I got going, the butterflies decided they had better places to be than in my stomach.

Only downside: I had to be at work at 6am, meaning I had to get up at 5am. I held two meetings in the morning, 6am and 8am, then went to class from 9:35 to 11:50, ate lunch, was back at work for the 2:30 meeting, and now get to work my normal shift until midnight.

Needless to say, I’m a little tired. I drank a Red Bull between classes this morning. I have a Rock Star sitting on my desk right now. And I’m still pretty tired. Tomorrow is going to be a very long day.

At least it’s only once a month.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 2010/10/28 in Life, Random

 

2 responses to “Seriously!? / I’m Still Alive!

  1. K.D. Storm aka Kim Jackson

    2010/10/29 at 03:19

    I’m betting that they will be honestly surprised when the teacher leaves the note “Should have been typed. Next time put more effort in it.”

    I am getting geared up to attend college come spring (shots and placement tests pending of course) and I was told that public speaking and what not will be involved. So I am looking towards you for notes on how to handle it all. 😀

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/10/29 at 08:47

      Oh, I’m sure they will be surprised. But it was right there on the syllabus. He told us that all assignments had to be typed on the first day of class. Did they think that ALL assignments, doesn’t include this one? So dumb.

      I remember taking speech class. It wasn’t so bad. Just remember to write/talk about a topic that you know pretty well and try to talk slowly. Everybody else is just as nervous and inexperienced as you. So, it’s really nothing to worry about. I’ll try to write some posts about it, but I’m honestly no expert. I’m learning as I go. Kudos to you for going back to school and good luck!

       

Leave a Reply

 
