RSS

A double-edged sword

18 Oct

So, last night I had this really weird dream. I won’t go into details, because it’ll only prove further how strange I am. But, said dream has been noodling its way through my head all day and has managed to produce a pretty cool idea for a story.

As you’ve all learned, I lovelovelove new ideas! I regularly cheat on my novels during these tawdry affairs with new ideas. But I can’t help it! I love the enthusiasm that goes with ideas and I just can’t wait to start writing! I’m so afraid that I’ll lose the inspiration if I wait. (This is why I have 18 stories started and only 5 finished.)

My problem: Nano is two weeks away! I already have my Nano picked and it’s a story that’s been waiting to be written for months. Yes, months! There’s no way I can start this story now and do Nano in two weeks.

So now, I’m honestly tempted to switch stories, just because I’m so excited about this one. And hey, the other one’s already been waiting for months, why not a few more? But I’ve already put so much work into outlining and character sketching We, FOUR. Plus, my characters are going to be so mad at me if I put them off any longer. They were pretty understanding of my decision to wait, but shoving them aside, not so much.

Grr!

I’m still excited about We, FOUR but it’s in that controlled I’ll-always-love-you sort of way. But this new idea is lust and passion, fire and persuasion, kiss me and I’ll melt against your body. That’s pretty hard to resist.

Anybody else have this problem? Any thoughts?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 2010/10/18 in Writing

 

4 responses to “A double-edged sword

  1. K.D. Storm aka Kim Jackson

    2010/10/19 at 11:06

    That is the problem that I have. I come up with twenty ideas at once. All are great but I can’t figure out which ones to use. Still haven’t figured out how to get pass it. So if anyone gives you the magic answer let me know 🙂

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/10/19 at 13:00

      I think the magic answer might be throwing them all in a hat or flipping a coin. LOL But probably only if there’s really no pull toward one or the other.

       
  2. Tonya

    2010/10/22 at 16:11

    well…what did you decide?!

    i’m guessing new one!

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/10/22 at 16:16

      Actually, no. I decided to stick with We, FOUR. Sometimes, I even surprise myself.

       

Leave a Reply

 
