RSS

Inner Critic

13 Oct

For all those doing Nanowrimo, I stumbled across a useful technique for turning off your inner critic today. Last year, I used highlighting instead of the suggested hash symbol # to mark places I wanted to work on later. But it’s the same principle and it worked for me.

I also write a bunch of notes to myself so I’ll remember various scenes I want to add/cut later or things that need foreshadowed. So, I don’t feel like I have to do it right away and can keep writing until I’m ready to stop.

How do you turn off your inner critic?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 2010/10/13 in Writing

 

3 responses to “Inner Critic

  1. Andy Shackcloth

    2010/10/14 at 01:42

    Hi Candice, Thanks for spreading the word, the technique worked so well for me that I just want to tell everyone.

    Must admit I am looking forward to any other ideas your readers will add in the comments.

     
  2. K.D. Storm aka Kim Jackson

    2010/10/14 at 18:59

    I haven’t come up with one tried and true method yet. Just refuse to look at it. No matter how bad I want to LMAO

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/10/14 at 19:04

      Yeah, I’m vaguely thinking of putting a piece of paper over my screen or something. I think that would drive me crazy, but maybe if I really can’t focus or something, I’ll try it. LOL

       

Leave a Reply

 
