RSS

In writing…

31 Aug

Let’s see…I haven’t had much free time, but I have been working on my writing. I’ve spent the last several weeks creating outlines and I’m so proud of myself for it.

Mostly, I’ve been working on new story. *Hangs her head in shame* I know, I know. I can’t even finish the other thirteen stories I have started. But I’m really excited about it (I know, I’m always excited about new projects. Keep listening/reading). I’m so excited because I’m doing this one differently. I’m planning to make it this year’s Nanowrimo and as per the rules, I can’t start actually writing until November 1st. So, I’m just outlining and character profiling.

This outlining thing is pretty new to me. Until now, I’ve never written an outline before I wrote the story. Numerous times, I’ve gone back after the fact to write one (Usually after I’ve written six drafts and am still finding plot holes bigger than the Grand Canyon). Perhaps, I’m seeing my problem here. I don’t know. I’ll let you know how this story goes once I get started writing it.

My worry with outlining has always been that I’ll lose the inspiration, the fun of seeing where the characters take me. Sometimes the characters come up with way better story ideas than I ever could and I’m afraid I’ll be taking that away from them. I guess I’ll just have to play it by ear and remember to be flexible. I can always change the outline later, right?

That’s not the only thing I’ve been making progress on. I’ve been outlining last year’s Nano Sisters of Cloth. I refuse to go into this year without having last year’s finished. I clearly don’t expect to have it perfect, but just having an ending would be nice. When I wrote the story, I met the word count goal on November 31st then the life I’d been neglecting for four weeks caught up with me and I had to put it aside without finishing it. Live and learn, right? Right.

Unfortunately, not finishing it wasn’t the story’s only problem.

1) I’ve written myself into a corner so the ending only has one place to go and I don’t like it.
2) The plot lines, while I like them, are shallow.
3) I need to do a lot more research.

But, that’s okay. I don’t mind hard work and I love the characters too much to let them die in a dusty corner of my hard drive. They deserve to see the sunlight.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 2010/08/31 in Writing

 

2 responses to “In writing…

  1. K.D. Storm aka Kim Jackson

    2010/08/31 at 20:21

    I know. I just realized a day or two ago that it was coming up. I am up in arms about what to write 🙂 Good luck and I will be rooting for you :). Are you on the Nanowrimo site???? I will look you up on there and add you on my buddy list so we can cheer each other on.

     
    • CB

      2010/08/31 at 21:48

      Yay! Another Nanoer. I was worried that I was a dork because I was outlining two months early. It’s good to know I’m not the only one excited for it. Did you do it last year? I’m on the site under my incredibly creative name, candicebeever. The more cheering the better. I’ll look for you.

       

Leave a Reply

 
