RSS

Super Senior, haha

25 Aug

So, in my Marketing Channels class today, we each, all fifty of us, had to stand and tell a little about ourselves. At one point, a guy stood and introduced himself, gave his major, then said he was a “Super Senior.” I almost laughed aloud.

If anyone doesn’t know, Super Seniors are the ones who take five years for a four year degree. My reason for laughing is that I’m currently two years beyond being a Super Senior and that’ll be three by the time I actually graduate.

I’ve been in college since I was seventeen. Of course, I didn’t have a clue what I wanted to do at that age. Why I was so anxious to get to college? I don’t even know. So, I loaded myself up with books and classes, firmly motivated toward that first major…Wait for it…Aircraft Maintenance. What was I thinking? Clearly, I wasn’t. I flipped through the Big Book of Majors and it sounded cool. (I was young. Don’t hold it against me.)

From there, I ran full-speed ahead for three semesters (fall, spring, and summer) without a clue. I think I changed my major three times in that year. In my second fall, I burnt out, dropped most of my classes and decided to take a year off, allegedly to figure out what I wanted to do with my life. (Still young, mind you.)

I finally settled on International Business and heard about a good program down state. So off I went again, this time with husband in tow. As you might guess, a ton of my courses didn’t transfer over. (Electronics not being very useful for business majors and all) So I was pretty much starting over. And being poor college students, now paying tuition ourselves, I only went part-time and had to schedule around my work. Basically, it was taking forever. So, we finally decided to go the student loan route last year and I got an evening shift job. Yay! Full speed ahead, once again.

That’s how you end up without a degree at 24 even though you’ve been in college FOREVER. My new expected graduation date is December 2011, but possibly May 2012, depending on when I do my internship.

Of course, I have actually changed my major one more last time. I had picked International Business because it incorporated the most of my interests. Business, language, and travel. Win, win, win, right? Wrong. Turns out the more generalized your degree is, the harder it is to narrow down where you’d like to work. I essentially avoiding picking a degree by picking something so general. Seriously, I didn’t have a clue what to do with an International Business degree. I hear some people do wonderful in IB, but I’m not one of them.

So, I decided to narrow it down to Marketing. Not just marketing, book marketing! Now I know what businesses to target when I’m ready for a job. I know how to tailor my approach. Heck, I know what country to look in. I have a plan. I have a place to be. And I want to be there.

Someday, I’ll join that happy, cap-and-gowned throng. But for now, I’m a grunt.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 2010/08/25 in School

 

4 responses to “Super Senior, haha

  1. Lua

    2010/08/26 at 11:58

    Haha I was a super senior too- it took me 5 years to finish law school (in Turkey, law schools are 4 years) and now I’m 24 and going back to college! This time for an MA degree on something I’m actually interested in: writing .
    Aircraft Maintenance? Wow- sounds… intimidating? 🙂
    Don’t worry about still being in collegel- that is the best place in the world!

     
    • CB

      2010/08/26 at 23:25

      Yeah, there are times in life when you just are where you are. College is one of those times. It’s not something you can really speed up, just enjoy the ride.

      Wow, law school! And you think Aircraft Maintenance sounds intimidating? Law sounds hard.

       
  2. Tonya

    2010/08/26 at 15:53

    Oh yes baby sis, it’s been a long road for you. But alas, the working world beyond college is nothing like what they tell you in college. A generation like ours is not cut out for the 8-5 lifestyle. We work hard to play hard, so if I get all my work done by noon, why can’t I leave?! So wrong! Ahhhhh, such is life. Find something you love (even if it takes you 6 years in college) because we still got 40 years til retirement. :p

     
    • CB

      2010/08/26 at 23:29

      I’m already in the working grind with the hospital. I can put in my time. I’m just tired of essentially working two jobs. One of which I not only don’t get paid for, I have to pay them! I totally agree about finding something you love.

       

Leave a Reply

 
