RSS

Am I an Author Now?

02 Aug

As is obvious from my lack of blog activity, I haven’t been writing much lately. I broke the habit of writing everyday when my summer classes got intense, but then I never picked it back up. I noodled a little here and there, but nothing serious. On top of that, I was a little depressed because I’d made some hard decisions about my Reality & Memories series. The kind that’s good for the story, but means I’ll have to rework the entire series. The editing never stops. But after last weekend, I suddenly feel a lot better about my writing.

I went to my husband’s family reunion. While we’re eating our hot dogs and potato salad, his brother mentions my writing. Then tells me that a friend of his, someone I’ve never met, found my website and read the stories I have online. Even better, he liked them! Woot!

A complete stranger read my stories and liked them. Not my mother. Not someone I asked to read them. Not someone critiquing them. Just someone. How cool is that!

So, dear friend of Matt, if you’re reading this, thank you. Really and truly, thanks. It’s the little moments that keep hopeful writers soldiering on.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 2010/08/02 in Writing

 

3 responses to “Am I an Author Now?

  1. Lua

    2010/08/03 at 02:55

    I know there are times when we doubt ourselves and question our writing but I just wanted to drop by and tell you that I really enjoy your blog 🙂 Keep writing, it’ll get better!

     
    • CB

      2010/08/03 at 16:56

      Thanks. It’s good to know somebody reads this thing.

       
  2. Corra McFeydon

    2010/08/09 at 14:34

    It comes in waves – writing. It’s overwhelming, then it’s beautiful.

    – Corra

     

Leave a Reply

 
