RSS

Blaaah

30 Mar

I don’t really have anything to say. I’m just feeling down on myself and since this is a blog about my writing journey, feeling down is part of it. These are some of the worst days. Yeah, I wrote a letter to myself for these kinds of days and that’s helpful, but I’m still going to share my thoughts for the six people who read this.

I’ve been working really hard and I’m still writing. But at the moment, I don’t like my story. No, that’s not true. I love my story and I love the characters. But I’ll be realistic, it’s too weird of a concept to get published. Or at least too weird to get published by an unknown. I’m not giving up, but I am going to scoot it sideways to focus on other projects.

I think the distance will be good. I’ve reworked the story so many times, it’s not even the same book it started out as. It’s lost some spark and why shouldn’t it when part of me is tired of it. There’s something wrong with the story that I’m just not seeing. In all of my reviews, I keep hearing the same thing. I need a hook. There’s nothing to make the story unique. It’s just another love story.

Yeah, I know it is. I’m a little depressed about it, but there’s nothing to be done. If the concept isn’t original, no amount of editing will make it so. But what’s an original concept? Out of all those books in the world, how many of them are telling the same kind of love story?

Is there such a thing as original? There must be. All those happy authors getting published have done it. Am I just not that creative? I have ideas.

Sometimes, I think I’m just frustrated with how slow it’s going. Some authors you hear about wrote the entire book in eight months while others spend twenty years. While I wouldn’t mind finishing in eight months, I don’t expect that to happen. But I really don’t want to work on this for twenty years.

I’m already 24 with nothing to show for myself. I’m still in school, working in a dark hole, and barely have time to sleep. I want a diploma and a career and a house and to spend my nights having dinner with my husband. I’m like the little kid in the backseat.

“Are we there yet?”

 
8 Comments

Posted by on 2010/03/30 in Life, Writing

 

8 responses to “Blaaah

  1. K.D. Storm

    2010/03/30 at 14:29

    Hang in there. This happens to the best of us. The best thing to do is put it away and no matter how tempted you all don’t read it. Then come back with frsh eyes and renewed heart.

    As far as how many ways to tell the same love story I was once told that the story you tell may be the same one told before but remember it’s different because you are telling it in your way.

    I hope this helps. Just don’t worry about the others. Do it at your own speed in order to get where you need to be. The only time clock is your own. I hope this helps a little. Good luck 🙂

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/03/30 at 14:53

      Thanks KD. That is helpful. Sometimes it’s hard to ignore what other people say, but I do really like my story and someday I’ll see it in print. But that’ll be after a nice, long break. Thanks.

       
  2. hexgnome13

    2010/03/30 at 22:00

    On the contrary, you have a lot to show for yourself; and a lot of things en-potentia to boot. Keep going.

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/03/30 at 22:48

      About the only thing I have to show for myself is you.

       
  3. Becca

    2010/03/31 at 19:00

    Hi, so um, I sorta got here through Dave’s site. I’m one of the gamers at the Ian’s house. I just saw he was married so I thought, “Wow, I wonder if she’s a gamer too?” So I stopped by your facebook (I don’t know, maybe I’m nosy, sorry!) and I saw you had a blog (and I love blogs) so I checked this out and now I feel I have to comment because I TOTALLY understand your frustration and have encouragement and I can’t just NOT encourage because I’m embarrassed that I linked to you in facebook. *huge exhale* (Does it make it better that we met at the laundry mat once?)

    Anyway, here goes. For starters, I’m 28, so don’t sweat 24, you are doing fine! As far as writing goes, NOTHING is original! Trust me, I’m a graduate student in Literature at SIUC, and am currently teaching 102. I majored in Creative Writing for my BA and I am also an AVID reader, mostly sci fi/fantasy but what do you expect I AM a gamer. Anyway, yeah, original is NOT the what makes a book. Shakespeare wasn’t original! He copied myths and older stories, he was just able to polish them up so they looked AS GOOD AS new. That is the key to ALL writing. Writing is about touching on those important human moments, and if your story has the feeling of honesty there, if you hit on true enough shared human experiences, then you have a good story on your hands and you should never give it up.

    Also, to keep in mind, great writers start young but get published old, typically. The author of “Eragon” is a fluke, mostly because his parents had an “in” with a publisher so of COURSE he got his work out there early, he had contacts. For the rest of us it’s going to be a LOT of work and a LOT of rejection before we see any fruits of our labors, but don’t let that stop you!!! Writers have to build up that tough skin because if we aren’t persistent than we will never be published. So hang in there!!! Keep writing, add new things, and try to enter shorter work into contests so you can build your cover letter with everything you’ve earned.

    All in all you also have to remind yourself why you started writing in the first place. I really don’t know you but I bet you any money that you started writing because you just couldn’t help it. Writers write, whether anything comes from it or not, we just do. So hold on to the JOY of writing, and anything else that happens with it is just extra.

    Okay, I’m done. Sorry if that was weird! We just kept passing (like in the laundry mat and you stopped by Ian’s once but didn’t stay) so when I saw Dave’s status and saw you had a facebook I was curious. Hope this isn’t too weird. :-/

    Makes you feel any better I am posting MY blog on here, and my rant is pretty much about writing too, so you can read that and understand why I just had to say something here to help!

    So… yeah, it was nice to meet you again!

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/04/01 at 21:47

      Hi Becca. Nice to meet you again too. I remember meeting you at the laundry mat. And no it’s not weird or nosy. If I didn’t want people to find me, I wouldn’t have a facebook or a blog or a super social husband.

      Thanks so much for the encouragement. The stuff about nothing being original is exactly what I needed to hear. I’ve always loved my story, but I knew it was nothing mind-blowing. It’s just meant to be a fun story that you read over a couple days. Sometimes people don’t want a heavy story.

      Actually, I started writing about a year ago entirely by accident. I didn’t really want to write. (Hence the blog title) I wanted to type and a story came out. But I don’t ever regret it. I finally found something I’m passionate/obsessed about and you’re right. Writers write.

      Thanks

       
  4. Tonya Griffith

    2010/04/06 at 15:26

    I clearly don’t get on here enough, but i catch up when i can. I agree with KD, there is nothing stronger than a story that embraces your emotions and your feeling. You can’t write a good story about things you know nothing about. Don’t complicate the meaning of the story by fluffing it with all these twists and turns. You have all the creativity you need, you need to figure out how to sort it out and put it on paper.

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/04/06 at 23:13

      Yay! Hi Tonya and thanks. I needed some encouragement.

       

Leave a Reply

 
