RSS

A letter to myself

05 Mar

I stole the premise for this from Corra’s Blog, where she wrote a letter to herself ten years from now. I’m tweaking it a bit though. I’ll be writing a letter to the myself for the bad days, the days of I’ll never be good enough, and the days of I can’t. For the doubts, the fears, and the tears. Here goes.

Candice,

Today has been a day or else you wouldn’t be reading this letter, but I’m here to tell you something really important. Believe me when I say, everything will be fine. You’ll feel better in the morning. You just have to make it there. You can handle a few more hours, can’t you?

Take the time to look back on the past, to see the good things in your life. Your successes. Go ahead, read back through some comments and old reviews. Yes, there may have been some bad, but there are far more good. Think about the good times. Remember that kickball game we won. Remember the Memphis zoo. Remember the Arch Commemorative Bowling Ball.

Most of all, remember why you started writing. Read through that first story. The one you wrote just for the love of the story, before you knew anything about writing or even wanted to be a writer.

Also know, that you’re not alone and you don’t have to suffer in silence. Call a friend, get a hug, spill your guts, and go eat some hot wings. That’s what friends and family are for. Let them be there for you. They love you, no matter what you’re thinking now, they do.

Lastly, stop remembering and imagine. Imagine that future we’ve planned. Imagine the joy and excitement when we get there. Imagine the feeling of accomplishment. Without days like today, that accomplishment would mean nothing. Soon, we’ll be at the top of the mountain. You just have to make it through a few more hours.

You can do this,
Candice

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 2010/03/05 in Life, Random, Writing

 

3 responses to “A letter to myself

  1. K.D. Storm

    2010/03/05 at 08:58

    That’s awesome. There was someone on Openalon who got all of us to do the same thing last week I do believe. It was based on a country music song where one was writing a letter as an adult to the seventeen year old model of one’s self. Thinking I might try this type letter too for days when everything seems to be working against me. Thanks a million 🙂

     
  2. hexgnome13

    2010/03/10 at 23:20

    Never forget the Arch Commemorative bowling ball. I’ll be right here, come take my hand when you need me.

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/03/11 at 11:52

      I always need you, bad day or good. I still smile every time I think about the ACBB.

       

Leave a Reply

 
