RSS

The dreaded words…

12 Feb

Group project.

It used to be that I hated the words term paper, but I’ve made peace with that one. Now I hate it when teachers say group project. Especially when it’s more than just working with a partner. Haven’t these teachers ever heard of the problem of collective action? The more people, the harder it is to get anything done. That’s why minorities always win in politics.

Fewer people = easier to organize
Fewer people = fewer shirkers

People like to shirk responsibility if they think they can get away with it. When there are four people in a group, how easy is it to say, “Oh, I don’t have time, but so-and-so will do that.”

You might as well insert my name for so-and-so because inevitably I end up doing all the work while they reap the A.

Grr.

Yes, I understand the point behind these abominable tasks. Teamwork is a valuable skill in the workforce and that’s what college is supposed to be preparing us for. But seriously, it’s not like I’ll be putting that on my resume.

Skills: Microsoft Office, Typing 60 wpm, and Plays well with others.

Happy Friday!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on 2010/02/12 in School

 

8 responses to “The dreaded words…

  1. K.D. Storm

    2010/02/12 at 20:49

    Better u than me LMAO LMAO

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/02/12 at 22:13

      Yeah, best part is the twenty-page paper the ‘group’ has to write. *Rolls eyes and groans*

       
  2. angelafristoe

    2010/02/14 at 10:02

    LoL – You sound like me! I was always the one who did the work. Could be the people I was grouped with didn’t want to do it, or because they weren’t doing it the way I wanted them to do it. Okay, it might have had more to do with me being a control freak! Good luck with your 20 page paper!
    🙂 Ang
    I linked to your blog from mine

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/02/15 at 12:26

      I usually end up with the people who don’t care what grade they get and I do. Maybe I’m a bit of a control freak too. But I don’t really care how they do it as long as they do it well. Thanks for the link. I’ll add yours too.

       
  3. Koreen

    2010/02/16 at 14:07

    I agree I hate working in groups. It’s funny that you wrote abou this because I just got a copy of the new state standards for Colorado Eduation and guess what–yup, the state is requiring us teacher to put our students into groups more often. Although it will be interesting to see how they measure that on our standardized testing.

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/02/16 at 17:26

      Good luck with that. Just don’t make them write a 20-page paper.

       
  4. Kendra

    2010/03/01 at 21:24

    You are so right. I hate group projects. As you stated, I understand that they are supposed to help us develop teamwork and what-not but the truth is that one person ends up doing all the work while other people reap the benefit (usually anyway). We just had a group project and no one even bothered to get together until two days before the project was due, grrr!

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/03/02 at 01:33

      Yeah, my project right now, it’s not due until April, but we’ve already been put into groups. I can’t even remember what the guys in my group look like. How am I supposed to ask them when we should get together? Double grrr!

       

Leave a Reply

 
