RSS

Like Walking On Ice

02 Feb

Yep, that pretty blanket of white fluff isn’t so pretty after it has melted and refrozen a few times. It occurred to me today while walking the treacherous sidewalks, how much writing can be like walking on ice.

Sometimes we fall. Remember that novel idea you had. You know, the one with the busty, submarine captain getting abducted by aliens and giving birth to the child of a prophecy.

Sometimes we slide. Can be good or bad depending on which way we’re sliding, but always unexpected.

Sometimes we move slowly. Taking small steps to keep our feet under us, we do our research and learn the unspoken rules and re-re-re-edit.

Sometimes we’re still moving full-steam-ahead. If we’re in a hurry to get where we’re going, we’ll just run across the ice. And yes that can make us fall, but look how far we got before that happened.

How are you moving?

Personally, I’m one of the cautious ones. I like to do my homework and feel secure (or as close as I can get) before I move on to the next task. But maybe that’s not what’s best for me. Maybe I should be running right now. Maybe a fall would do me some good.

Happy Writing!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 2010/02/02 in Writing

 

2 responses to “Like Walking On Ice

  1. K.D. Storm

    2010/02/02 at 16:43

    Honey I couldn’t agree with you more! I run and fall so much I have it down to a science. Just remember that falling is part of the process. That is one thing I have learned through out all of this. I have come to embrace the thought that falling and learning without grace is better than holding on to dignity but without taking a chance ever in life. 🙂

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/02/02 at 19:24

      Too true. I know, I need to work up my courage. I’m practically the Cowardly Lion over here. Thanks for the encouragement and the read.

       

Leave a Reply

 
