RSS

Sketching

27 Jan

These are the sketches I made of the characters from one of my stories called M Club. I drew these forever ago, but stumbled back upon them while I was switching computers.

Before I wanted to be a writer, I wanted to draw comics, manga specifically. I have sketches of almost all my MCs from that period. I’ve always loved the art style of manga. There’s something about those giant eyes that I fall in love with. Eyes are the window to the soul and all that jazz.

Lately, I’ve been noodling with this story. Deep down, I know I want to be working on Love & Marigolds, but that’s exactly what it feels like lately. Work. So I subconsciously decided to take a break.

As I’ve been writing on M Club, I find myself pulling out these sketches. I don’t know why, but it seems to help. I feel a little more connected to them when I can look into their eyes. I remember bits about their personalities and backgrounds that I sometimes forget when they aren’t right in front of me. It’s kind of like they’re watching me. Four sets of pleading eyes, asking me to tell their story and making sure I tell it right.

Does anybody else do this? Am I really weird?

The story is a YA (although I’m thinking of making it a MG) fantasy about four kids who unknowingly bring a convergence of demons to their school. Still learning the extents of their own powers in sometimes uncontrolled ways, they’re now responsible for stopping the demons from destroying the school or exposing them all.

Yeah, it’s clearly a WIP. I don’t even know where the story is going yet and probably won’t until I finish writing it. (I love first drafts.) I guess now that I’m making some fairly decent progress on it, I should add it to my WIP list. If you’d like to read a really rough excerpt it’ll be there.

Happy Writing!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 2010/01/27 in Writing

 

2 responses to “Sketching

  1. Koreen

    2010/01/28 at 21:44

    Love the sketches. I have a bunch of pictures for all of my characters, too. And maps, drawings of their houses, etc. Actually, I think it’s a bit of my insane personality seeping through, but if it helps the writing process…

    It’s pretty cool that you have a drawing talent. When you think of going back to M Club, will you still make it a graphic novel?

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/01/29 at 00:29

      I’m planning on making it a novel. I really enjoyed drawing manga, but it was never enough to get the characters out of my head. It was never personal enough to me. With writing, I feel like I’m putting my soul onto the paper. I just never got that with drawing.

       

Leave a Reply

 
