RSS

What’s your favorite book?

14 Jan

I HATE that question. Absolutely loathe it, but people see me reading all the time. So periodically, they get the urge to ask. Now, the reason I hate this question so much is because I don’t have a favorite book. That seems weird to most people, but I don’t.

Partly, I can’t chose because I see the differences in books. How can I compare Harry Potter to Pride and Prejudice? Both excellent books, but in totally different leagues.

Probably the bigger reason I can’t chose is because it’s constantly changing. It’s like having your favorite food be whatever you’re craving that day (which is also true for me). Apply that to books and you see how difficult it is to tell someone your favorite.

So, today, out of my 112 books listed on Goodreads, I’m going to attempt to narrow it down to ten that I liked more than the others.

Listed in no particular order:

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

Graceling by Kristen Cashore

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diane Wynne Jones (This is one of the few books where I loved the movie equally and think they’re best when watched/read closely together.)

Eragon by Christopher Paolini

Artemis Fowl by Eion Colfer

The Bromeliad by Terry Pratchett

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

Battle Royale by Koushun Takami

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

Good grief that was hard. And that’s just out of the 112 books I’ve remembered reading in my lifetime and put on Goodreads. Now the really tough quesion, how do I pick one out of those ten?

For today, I’m craving Battle Royale. But tomorrow may be a different story.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 2010/01/14 in Books

 

4 responses to “What’s your favorite book?

  1. Koreen

    2010/01/16 at 19:43

    I agree. The question of favorites is tough, and like you, my tastes vary from day to day. I’m impressed that you actually put together a list. I don’t think I could do that. Then again, I’m the kind of person who couldn’t even tell you my favorite color or favorite food. It changes from day to day.

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/01/16 at 22:56

      Yeah, I tried to log into an old account a few days ago and when I couldn’t remember my password, it asked my security questions. One of which was my favorite food. I still have no idea what I put for that. I eventually guessed my password and made it in.

       
  2. Bisi Adjajpon

    2010/01/18 at 20:15

    Hi Candice,

    I agree. I don’t have a favorite book. Recently, a facebook friend got us to compile our top fifteen unforgettable books. There are still a few I wish I could have added :). I haven’t read some of the books on your list, so I’ll check them out!

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/01/18 at 22:18

      Yeah, there were several I left off this list that I really liked. Thanks for the read.

       

Leave a Reply

 
