RSS

I can’t do this alone.

07 Jan

Luckily, I don’t have to. I was reading Sandra Bishop’s post about Not Going it Alone on Chip MacGregor’s blog and she talked about supporting her husband in the things he really wants to do. She then related that to how writing is considered a solo task, but it doesn’t have to be. And all that got me thinking about my husband.

Dave does so much for me, probably more than I even realize. Dave is the one at home doing the dishes and the laundry and buying groceries. He does all the mundane daily tasks, so I can go to school. He puts up with my mood swings and writing obsession. He listens to me babble endlessly about plot and characters. He’ll hash out queries and outlines with me. And he never asks for anything in return.

We’ve often said that we’re the perfect compliments to each other. I’m always looking to the horizon and seeing the big dreams while he’s looking at the ground to make sure I don’t trip along the way. I’m the one who starts the motion, but he keeps it going. I know I wouldn’t be anywhere near my big dreams if not for him.

I can’t do this alone and I don’t think any of us can. We all need help and support. Spouses, friends, family are such a blessing.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 2010/01/07 in Random

 

3 responses to “I can’t do this alone.

  1. Koreen

    2010/01/07 at 21:03

    Such a sweet, but very true, sentiment. Have you shared this post with him? I agree with you 100%. My husband keeps me sane as the rejections pour in and I feel like I’m losing my mind.

    Hey–have you had a chance to think about how much feedback you want on your story? Would like me to review as is or after some more rewrites?

    And I think your plot was good even if it was on the fly. 🙂

     
    • Candice Beever

      2010/01/07 at 23:10

      I have shared it with him and I tell him all the time but it still isn’t enough. He’s far too good to me.

      I left you a post on the YA group’s forum about reviewing. You’ve been super supportive too. Thanks for all your help.

       
  2. Koreen

    2010/01/08 at 11:35

    Thanks I’ll check that out.
    K

     

Leave a Reply

 
