RSS

Fix it!

29 Dec

Less than a year ago, I wrote my first novel. I pounded out the first draft in six weeks, spent another few weeks editing and then considered it complete. (Of course, it totally sucks and I still love every page of my wince-inducing child). After that, I decided that I kind of enjoyed writing and set out to learn what I could about the craft. I scoured the internet for every site I could find on how to be a better writer. I joined a critique group called The Next Big Writer. And after nine months, I thought I was doing pretty well for being so new. I’ve fixed a lot of the first timer mistakes. Things like telling instead of showing, writing passive instead of active, using too many adjectives and adverbs, and a ton of other little things. But I’ve been focusing on my writing style.

What about the plot?

My storyline is weak. There’s almost no hook or sense of urgency. So it’s well written but uncompelling. Thank goodness the people in my critique group were honest enough to tell me that or I may never have realized it needed work. Now it’s time to put in the TLC that plot needs and take a cute, decent story into a great, engaging story.

Google, here I come. I’ll be posting some of my findings in the future. For now, anybody know some good resources?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 2009/12/29 in Writing

 

2 responses to “Fix it!

  1. Koreen

    2009/12/29 at 23:12

    Oh–this is such a great topic. Sometimes we spend so much time on the little details, we forget the big picture. Have you checked out Plot Whisperer (http://plotwhisperer.blogspot.com/)? It is a great resource for all things plot related. They are actually holding a sort of “nano” process right now.

     
    • Candice Beever

      2009/12/29 at 23:51

      Yeah, I’m awful about missing the forest for the trees.

      Thanks for the link. I’ll go check out that site right now. I haven’t been there yet, but I did find a really good blog post from kidlit.com on Writing a Hot Plot. It gives a simple but effective method and I’m reading Hooked right now. I know you recommended it to me a long time ago, but for some reason I’m just now getting there. Also, super helpful.

      I feel like a blind woman finally able to see. The colors are fantastic.

       

Leave a Reply

 
