RSS

I’m Procrastinating.

12 Dec

Yep, I should be working on my story, but I just don’t feel like it. It’s one of those days where I hate everything I wrote yesterday. I’m trying to fill Love & Marigolds out to a decent length of 50,000 words. And last night I had it up to 43-something, but then I deleted a really long scene and it’s right back down to 41. I only have a few more things I wanted to add and they’re not going to equal 9, so now I’m at a loss to know what to do. How do some people write 200,000 words and then have trouble trimming it down, while I barely write 40,000 and can’t fill it out? Blah.

*sigh* Now I’m out of things to do. I guess I should get to work.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 2009/12/12 in Random, Writing

 

2 responses to “I’m Procrastinating.

  1. Corra McFeydon

    2009/12/16 at 05:01

    Maybe you have a talent for cutting the fat before you finish? You should look at the positive side. Comparing yourself to other writers inevitably makes you appear pale in comparison (We writers have that effect on ourselves.)

    But if you compare yourself to yourself, you’re making great strides! You wrote 40,000. That’s excellent, not a failure.

    😉

     
    • Candice Beever

      2009/12/16 at 12:15

      Very true. I’m really bad about comparing myself to others. Usually, it doesn’t bother me, but for some reason, it did that day. Thanks for the pep talk.

       

Leave a Reply

 
