RSS

Objectivity

05 Dec

I think one of the hardest things about writing is having to look at your own work objectively. It’s hard to read through without emotional attachments. These stories are like children after all. Going through the tears and blood to birth them, I hate realizing certain things. Like, that certain scene I spent hours writing, even longer rewriting, until I fell in love and then it has to be cut. Or, that secondary character that I worked so hard to make interesting and real, serves no purpose. Worst of all, when I know that I have to kill my main character. I love them too much. I want to give them the happily-ever-after they deserve. Why do they have to die?

The job of a writer is to examine every word, sentence, and scene to decide if it needs to be in the book. If it doesn’t advance the plot or define the characters, it’s gotta go. But sometimes, that’s just plain hard.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 2009/12/05 in Writing

 

Leave a Reply

 
